Books

Review: Odd Spirits by S. T. Gibson

August 11, 2018
Fans of The Raven Cycle and The Haunting of Hill House will devour this diverse paranormal romance novella from the author of “Hosanna Americana”!
 
It takes a lot of commitment to make a marriage between a modern ceremonial magician and a chaos witch work, but when a malevolent entity takes up residence in Rhys and Moira’s home, their love will be pushed to the limits. Brewing up a solution is easier said than done when your magical styles are polar opposites; throw a psychic ex and a secret society in the mix, and things are bound to get messy.
 
Taken from http://www.amazon.com. (Link goes to product page.)

 

I first heard about this book on Twitter from a tweet by the author herself. If you saw my Blogger Aesthetics Tag post, you’ll notice that the cover of this book is everything I love. (I would seriously frame a print of that cover on my wall.) This book promises quite a lot of details that hit home for me as a bisexual witch in a non-traditional marriage. I want to thank S. T. Gibson for sending me a copy after my pre-order fell through. I burned through this book as soon as I received it and I’m going to do my best to write a coherent review, but this book resonated with me so much that I just want to gush about it.

Gibson connects you with the characters right from page 1, absolutely essential for a novella. Rhys and Moira are both likable as individual characters and as a couple. You can feel their chemistry and how their differences compliment each other. At first the disturbances in their house are so small that they can be mistaken for average forgetfulness. As the paranormal events grow, you can feel the tension in the household increase with it as Rhys and Moira struggle to set their household back in order.

The story deals with feelings that any reader can relate to: jealousy, feelings of inadequacy, fear of not being taken seriously, all of those little thoughts and feelings that you try to push down and ignore. The characters deal with their flaws with a refreshing level of maturity, once they’re brought to light, without the story becoming preachy. The two different traditions of witchcraft displayed in the book are also treated respectfully while still dealing with how some people may perceive these traditions in a negative light.

I absolutely loved this book and am excited to see more from this author. I would love to have a hard copy (for my love of the cover.) My only real complaint was that I wanted more. I’m hoping Rhys and/or Moira show up again in S. T. Gibson’s writing down the road. I definitely recommend you purchase it. It’s available on Amazon.com: Click here. (Not an affiliate link. I receive nothing for promoting this book. I just really enjoyed it.) You should all read it and then come back to talk to me about it!

Only registered users can comment.

Leave a Reply